Kate (mulanreflection) wrote in nohappyendings_,
Kate
mulanreflection
nohappyendings_

Fic - Gundam Wing - 1x5 - "New Beginnings"

Author's Notes: My last fic of 2005! ^_^; I felt it... appropriate to end the year of '05 with a deathfic. *grins*
-Kate

Title: New Beginnings
Words: 523
Pairing: 1x5
Rating: PG
Warnings: Angst. Death.

It was supposed to be the start of a new year, a year not spent in war. We'd fought so hard for this and now it was with in our grasp. I'd expected to spend this first year of my new life with someone special to me. Fate, or whatever 'higher power' one chooses to believe in, seemed to have other plans though.

The shooting shouldn't have surprised me like it did. I'm a soldier. I know there can't truly be total pacifism like Relena's ideal world has but that doesn't mean that I don't think we should all try for it. If everyone tried hard enough we could at least create a world close to Relena's ideal.

I really should have known better. The most important political figures and the five gundam pilots all in one place? That sort of situation is just begging a terrorist to try to attack. I would know from experience, many considered the gundam pilots terrorists after all. I remember when I entered the grand ballroom that thought briefly crossed my mind. I remember thinking, "We're just putting a giant target over our heads." It was only for a moment I thought about it and I almost made the shift back to the 'Perfect Soldier'. That was when Wufei squeezed my hand and smiled gently up at me. He told me to relax and I did.

I should have known better… everything happen so fast. After the first gunshot screams filled the area and there was a moment of chaos. I remember hearing Wufei shout.

"YUY!!"

Then I was on the ground with a heavy weight on top of me. There was several more gunshots before they stopped but everyone was still panicking. At one point Duo was kneeling beside me.

"Status?!"

"Functional."