Xannee (xandrabelle) wrote in adventchildren_,
Xannee
xandrabelle
adventchildren_

• Mood:

I bring Fic!

Hi there, this is my first time posting to this community. I've been writing some fic for Advent Children. Hope you enjoy!

Title: World Enough and Time
Author: xandrabelle
Pairing: Tseng x Rufus
Rating: R to be safe
Set immediately right after Advent Children, with many spoilers.
Summary: In the aftermath of the defeat of the Advent Children, and his cure from Geostigma, what goes through Rufus' mind?

The last rays of the setting sun shafted low through the glass between the parted curtains of the window, surrounding the young man standing before it in a golden nimbus. One pale hand, long shielded from sunlight, reached out to push the heavy fabric further apart, to allow a better view outside.

And what a view it was. The city spread out beyond, a mangled conglomeration of steel pilings, fragments of concrete and glass from shattered homes and the remnants of roads resembling a spider's web of cracks-- detritus from the titanic battle to defeat the monstrous summoned creature Bahamut Sin.

Yet not all was ugly and waste-- whole stretches of the City of Edge prevailed, intact and vibrant, in the shadow of the ruined skyscrapers of Midgar. Particularly one Shinra Tower. It was to this that Rufus Shinra focused his contemplative attention.

"Is everything all right?"

Rufus swiveled around to address the dark suited man by the door. "Yes, I'm fine, Tseng."

The leader of the Turks rocked back, as if still unused to the reality of Rufus, alive and well, standing on his own two feet and not confined to a wheelchair, his flesh healthy if pale, no longer stained by the terrifying marks of Geostigma. He cleared his throat, as if trying to find the correct words to express the depth of his emotions and failed. At last, he settled for the mundane.