nina merry (bbyoddish) wrote in _tomwaits_,
nina merry
bbyoddish
_tomwaits_

some type of intro

I recently joined a Tom Waits fan club on some site, however, the site pretty much states that their love for Waits has run out because they've said all they've needed to say so now they're gonna go down to Sicily and drink with the Sicilians.  I'm pretty disappointed in this, because the site required that you type up an intro about how you met/came across Waits, etc.  They never check their site anymore so my intro was completely wasted.  I honestly don't expect anyone to read this because it's TL;DR but.  Well.  I guess I just hate when ideas die.  And I'm sure this community would appreciate any type of post, no matter if anyone reads it in the end.

So I guess I'm supposed to type out an intro that some middle-aged guy can read and compare to the relationship he has/had with Tom Waits.  No offense, I have no knowledge of what you look like or who you are, but I can totally picture you as a comic opera devil gnashing his teeth while taking a drag of some cigarette.  Not that that would offend you or anything. I guess I have it set in my mind that all TW fans are men like that, considering the only TW fan I know fits that exact description.

I'll be honest, and in being honest I'll admit that I was going to lie about this whole thing and say I'm some balding 50-year-old lady who got turned onto Tom Waits when she was a teen in the 70s and her boyfriend was like, "Hey, check out this bitchin' artist. Can you dig it?" (You can lie about that type of stuff, it's the internet.  No one would know.  It would have worked) but no.  I turned 17 a week ago and thanks to Tom Waits, even my own father thinks I'm older than I really am.