?

No account? Create an account
_Survivors_
A safe space to share stories and ask questions
My abusive dad 
5th-Dec-2006 09:19 am
ahhh
Hey, Well this is my first post here. I'm new to the LJ communities, i dont know if this is the best place to put this but i do need help and advice. Sorry if it triggers for anyone, or isn't the right spot to post this sort of thing. You can delete it if it is.

My names Austin, I’m 17 and still live with my Mum and younger brother. My dad has bipolar and just recently moved out. He’s pretty much gone out of his mind or something, but refuses to see a doctor. The last time I saw him was when I stopped him from physically abusing my mother. And he’s also verbally abused me as well at times. All my life I’ve had to see the emotional abuse, financial abuse, social abuse and some times the physical abuse my mum has been through while living with my father. It had always bothered me what he does to her, like any kid I hated it. But this one last rage of anger I can’t forget. It doesn’t leave my mind, the things he said, the way he looked, just everything. It stays in the back of my mind. It’s only been two weeks since he’s been gone. But already I’m feeling so much pain from it, I thought everything would be different once he was gone, I thought I’d be happier and wouldn’t hurt so much any more.

It’s having huge effects on me, it takes me about 7 hours to finally fall asleep. During the 7 hours I think none stop about what happened that night and once I do fall asleep I dream about it. I’m only getting about 4 hours sleep each night. This has left me feeling like absolute crap. I’m so exhausted now and I feel so down. Usually I’d just get over my problems and move on but I can’t seem to do it this time. I don’t know how to get it off my mind.