Moontidemelody (moontidemelody) wrote in _survivors_,
Moontidemelody
moontidemelody
_survivors_

• Mood:

Sharing my story

Wow, this is hard, strange and surreal all at once. 
I grew up in a good household, with loving parents and siblings. When I was 14 my half brother killed himself, I turned 15 shortly after and started dating this guy who was 2 years older in high school I was a freshman. This was a very poor decision and an extremely abusive relationship to have lost my virginity in. I experienced verbal, emotional, physical and sexual abuse at his hands. The relationship ended about 8 months later. Though I was aware of a lot of verbal, emotional abuse, the actual raping and physical abuse was not remembered until 4 years later, when I actually recalled myself standing in the bathroom, looking in the mirror and repeating to myself out loud that this never happened. It worked because I had no knowledge of it, until I remembered. Between this person and my actively working with this information, I dated or slept with some incredibly unsavory people. I wasn't a out and out whore, but I definitely didn't respect or honor my body, after all I believed my first real boyfriend when he told me that I was ugly, fat and stupid, and only deserved it.

I slept with men to gain acceptance, to feel wanted. Though I had a wonderful group of supporting friends and amazing parents. I was filling a whole.  I also kepted everything that had happened to me to myself. No one knew a thing until years later when i told them.

I started working with my self worth issues surrounding my emotional, physical and mental health and wellbeing in my early 20's. I'm 29 currently.