June 21st, 2006

another one of those new people :-P

hey everyone, i figured i'd introduce myself. i'm christa, i'm 18 and i just graduated from highschool. i'm a survior of sexual abuse and incest. my so-called "brother" raped me from age 5 to 14. lately i've been having a lot of flashbacks and nightmares, espescially since i graduated last week. i'll post more about it later, but i just wanted to let you know who i am and my stituation right now. if anyone wants to chat, my aim sn is forgetting regret.

bright blessings
Yo Bunny
  • waylay

Huh

So I'm listening to an NPR program on family and how to parent your children. There are all these people calling in and talking about how to be a good parent to your children, how to model appropriate behaviour for your kids, how to raise healthy, productive kids, etc.

My parents were pretty good with most of these things. They instilled us with some fairly good values and they taught us to be somewhat motivated and fairly reasonable human beings. They encouraged us to think and to try to be happy. They taught us about sex and drinking and the kind of things you're supposed to teach your kids. They kept the lights on and the fridge stocked and clothes on our backs and they bought us books and educational toys and took us on mind-expanding trips.