Tess (evenstar_brego) wrote in _survivors_,
Tess
evenstar_brego
_survivors_

This is my first time posting on here, so I'm a little nervous. I'm not very good at talking about what happened, but I figured I'd give it a shot since I dropped out of therapy after one session.

Basics first: I suffered at least eight years of SA by my sister's boyfriend (when it started) and it continued after they were married. It's only stopped in February because I finally realized what was going on. But from the time I was eight until I was sixteen, I was abused by him.

I'm essentially an only child. As mentioned, I have/had a sister. She's nine years old than me and we never really got along. She really hated being around me. But then her boyfriend, who seemed like a goofy kid to me was kind and understanding and spent time with me. He acted like I was his little sister. As a kid I thought it was great that this high school student would pay attention to me when my own sister wouldn't.

That's how he roped me in. He gained my trust when I was a defenseless kid who didn't know better. Then he started spoiling me with gifts. His first Christmas with our family, when I was barely nine years old, he went all out on me. Big cardboard boxes of gifts just for me. I could've hide inside these boxes. He also bought and built my first computer and went to the effort to put a background with horses on it and also program all the clicks and sounds to be horse sounds.

There are a few strange moments I remember from being a kid, but they're so brief I can't analyze them. Plus he moved out of the house with my sister early on and I didn't see him very much for a while. Before long they moved several states away and he tried to get me to stay with them for a few weeks or what not. I never went, thankfully.