Elmo (ishpanblobikah) wrote in _belong,
Elmo
ishpanblobikah
_belong

• Mood:

I don't really have any non-HP fandoms... alas

1. Name: Well, long story. It's Emily, but everyone I know calls me Elmo and then other people get yelled at when they don't call me Elmo. I know Petra here and Clare who just applied, so I think it's just safer to stick with Elmo. Clare bites sometimes. Not really.

2. Age: Fifteen

3. Gender: Female

4. What are your hobbies/interests outside of HP? How do you feel these hobbies/interests contribute to your personality?
Outside of HP I'm a sophomore in high school. I'm a huge nerd and I love math and history and writing. I'm taking AP US History this year and the workload is killing me, and a lot of my free time is spent reading my history book. I love the material and I find it fascinating; I just wish we didn't have to sprint throuh it. I'm also taking Creative Writing and I'm enjoying it far more than an English class should be enjoyed. I love academics but not necessarily school, because in school you have to deal with incompetent people and early mornings.

Aside from academics, I'm a cellist. I'm principal cello in an orchestra that rehearses every Friday afternoon, and I get to play God over the three other people in my section. It makes me inordinately happy. I practice obsessively when I have the time, which isn't often, unfortunately. I'm also on my school's ski team, and I go up to New Hampshire most weekends. I'm getting better as a racer (I was pathetic last year, next year I'm hoping for Varsity) but I'm still a huge wimp when it comes to moguls and jumps, which my friends made me try two Saturdays ago. It was, to say the least, interesting. Ski racing has changed me more than I thought it would, because running around in spandex has taken away a good deal of my modesty, and I've become more aggressive and confident.