?

No account? Create an account

09 September 2008 @ 12:05 am
Revision/Study Tips  
*waves* Hi, I'm Melanie, and I'm delighted to have been chosen to write for l&l :] I'm 19, from the UK, and currently studying Japanese at Oxford University. During term time you can usually find me in Starbucks slaving away over homework, pretending to be well-bred and pretentious, both of which I am not.

My first entry's a bit on the tl;dr side, but I've been thinking a lot about revision and study tips in general, as I have exams at the start of every term :( These are all my own personal tips, so feel free to agree or disagree with me in the comments :]

The truth is.. I am a bad student. My first year started off terribly disorganised and revision time was hell. I picked up a bit in my last term, and I'm determined to make this year much better. So these are a case of do as I say, not as I do, haha.

1. ORGANISE, ORGANISE, ORGANISE
Seriously, keep your notes organised. Get some ringbinders and label them by subject/topic/whatever. As soon as you get back to your room, type your notes up if that works for you, and FILE THEM. I didn't do this, and when it came to revision time I had to waste hours and hours sorting out piles of paper before I could actually use anything.

2. Note taking