Home

Advertisement

The High Weirdness Project - "Bob's" image removed from Wikipedia (temporarily) [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
The High Weirdness Project

[ website | The High Weirdness Project ]
[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

"Bob's" image removed from Wikipedia (temporarily) [Jun. 18th, 2008|07:31 am]
Previous Entry Add to Memories Tell a Friend Next Entry

highweirdness

[modemac]
Nearly six years after the Dobbshead first appeared on Wikipedia, it was suddenly removed because it apparently did not meet the standards for allowing copyrighted images to appear there. Despite the fact that it has a big (C) on it, is attributed to The SubGenius Foundation, Inc., is listed as "Permission For Use On Wikipedia Granted By The SubGenius Foundation, Inc.", AND no one had ever contested its use there, AND it is part of the Wikipedia article on the Church, which is prominently referenced by Stang and SubSite as a useful beginner's source for information about the Church...all this wasn't enough to meet Wikipedia's standards.

The real problem is that the rules for allowing images to stay at Wikipedia are getting more and more complicated all the time. I'm still an official "moderator" at Wikipedia, but that's mostly in name only since I quit daily editing and participation there in order to build and maintain my own wiki, the High Weirdness Project. So I don't have the clout to keep the image there permanently -- and more importantly, I can't figure out the goddamn template for making an image say what I want it to say.

If you're a Wikipediholic and you can help out, then please head over here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Bobdobbs.png

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image_talk:Bobdobbs.png

...and start editing away. Please note that because of Wikipedia's so-called "neutral point of view," emotional arguments and pleas for "Bob" to smite them will be largely ignored. We'll have to appeal to their sense of "logic" and "rationality" to get this straightened out.
linkReply

Comments:
[User Picture]From: [info]drjon
2008-06-18 01:17 pm (UTC)

(Link)

I gave up on Wikipedia after getting caught in the cross-fire between a Fundamentalist Discordoid admin and a whole hand of wikiturfing Discordoid sockmonkeys.

I have moar important things to do. Like write Discordian materials. Sorry, I wish I could help.
[User Picture]From: [info]doyoudreamatall
2008-06-18 09:02 pm (UTC)

(Link)

What if We created another image, a mirror image of our 13013. I don't think exact opposites can be copyrighted.
[User Picture]From: [info]ts_looney
2008-06-18 11:51 pm (UTC)

(Link)

Wikipedia also refuses to allow any article about Encyclopedia Dramatica to remain on their site for more than 24 hours.

Seems like Wikipedia doesn't want anyone to know that there is any sub-culture in the world that hasn't sold out.
From: (Anonymous)
2008-06-19 03:28 pm (UTC)

Forwarded email for Modemac

(Link)

Return-Path: <kennethnoisewater1@gmail.com>
X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.2.5 (2008-06-10) on b.spam.sonic.net
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=0.0 required=5.0 tests=HTML_MESSAGE
autolearn=disabled version=3.2.5
Received: from a.mx.sonic.net (a.mx.sonic.net [208.201.249.230])
by eth0.a.lds.sonic.net (8.13.8.Beta0-Sonic/8.13.7) with ESMTP id m5I4NUMG028747
for <stank42@lds.sonic.net>; Tue, 17 Jun 2008 21:23:30 -0700
Received: from mail.buyshopsell.com (mysql.buyshopsell.com [66.17.219.7])
by a.mx.sonic.net (8.13.8.Beta0-Sonic/8.13.7) with ESMTP id m5I4NPPl008292
for <huh?@sonic.net>; Tue, 17 Jun 2008 21:23:30 -0700
Received: from [209.85.198.228] (helo=rv-out-0506.google.com)
by mail.buyshopsell.com with esmtp (Exim 4.60)
(envelope-from <kennethnoisewater1@gmail.com>)
id 1K8pCX-0006C8-8N
for frice@skeptictank.org; Wed, 18 Jun 2008 00:23:17 -0400
Received: by rv-out-0506.google.com with SMTP id f6so5583353rvb.27
for <frice@skeptictank.org>; Tue, 17 Jun 2008 21:23:18 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed;
d=gmail.com; s=gamma;
h=domainkey-signature:received:received:message-id:date:from:to
:subject:mime-version:content-type;
bh=2P/5eMJPLSM/vHzWv2ocN9+mUQ4pOvu8xsTMTQK5HGs=;
b=P5K41T3Wux6rvyWGQ5NT6Ohis9o+5EV3b/d6XM8mU2FPKgVznPMOlE0etQ/jY1LaWG
m/rXgq2lIkDIiEPlf/JnaA4T54t56Ynv3YOXqDjwuYfCAUyttjH+J1WC3Qiq05vCNFtx
VHMHd20I3TX5DwZh4V3Rz65ySCFu1i4+NCPuA=
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; c=nofws;
d=gmail.com; s=gamma;
h=message-id:date:from:to:subject:mime-version:content-type;
b=p34oJQjhaoRrWZbITtdvRJO/qkEM2U5s0JrmlBWrE02myY3FnBnKPxtEKvr+PVVwUZ
OdEqeZC6TuHfnbGPWsAybkrhMnFT6rcn9Pl64cusgvCpAqY5lu9XwWvk34KnAeNpKDkT
DYA9bZJOSpF1zxDMdcOfzhH/qNFlxkScC1JWQ=
Received: by 10.141.48.10 with SMTP id a10mr5045403rvk.4.1213762600972;
Tue, 17 Jun 2008 21:16:40 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.141.189.9 with HTTP; Tue, 17 Jun 2008 21:16:40 -0700 (PDT)
Message-ID: <e176ad260806172116l7843e048k7d3f7c62c9ce983f@mail.gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 17 Jun 2008 21:16:40 -0700
From: "Kenneth Noisewater" <kennethnoisewater1@gmail.com>
To: frice@skeptictank.org
Subject: Scientology question
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="----=_Part_171_30319580.1213762600959"
X-Sonic-SB-IP-RBLs: IP RBLs .

------=_Part_171_30319580.1213762600959
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Disposition: inline

Fred,

You posted a link to an article the poster Modemac wrote. I've always liked
his stuff. It seems like you know who he is. Does he post on ARS as a
different name? Or someone that I know? I'm trying to put something
together on my site and would like accurate info on his real name or real
info before posting it.

I would appreciate it, if you know it.

Thanks -

Paul
paul@netskrill.com

------=_Part_171_30319580.1213762600959
Content-Type: text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Disposition: inline

Fred,

You posted a link to an article the poster Modemac wrote.  I've always liked his stuff.  It seems like you know who he is.  Does he post on ARS as a different name?  Or someone that I know? I'm trying to put something together on my site and would like accurate info on his real name or real info before posting it.


I would appreciate it, if you know it. 

Thanks -

Paul
paul@netskrill.com (mailto:paul@netskrill.com)


------=_Part_171_30319580.1213762600959--

[User Picture]From: [info]modemac
2008-06-19 04:23 pm (UTC)

Re: Forwarded email for Modemac

(Link)

Oh dear, oh my, someone is "trying" to find out my super duper secret identity. Woe is me, I am so scared. Or, it could be a troll against Rev. Fred Rice. After all, the Sons of Elron already know my human name, and even Barbara Schwarz was able to uncover it. What's more, the email address used (paul@netskrill.com) is the same one used in a trolling thread on a.r.s. three years ago, as seen here: http://tinyurl.com/4lflgv

So to whoever sent that message, don't bother replying because it is either a troll or a *very* stupid Scientologist.
[User Picture]From: [info]t3dy
2008-06-21 02:31 am (UTC)

copyleft quotation

(Link)

"why yes, wikipedia has indeed caused psychosis, in people who haven't used it." -ghost of timothy leary

Advertisement