You are viewing _i_heard_you_

I Heard You - Joel & His Drug Problems- Seventeen Mag Scans [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
<Good Charlotte>

[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

Joel & His Drug Problems- Seventeen Mag Scans [Jan. 29th, 2005|03:35 pm]
Previous Entry Add to Memories Share Next Entry

_i_heard_you_

[crazydork27]
[mood |calmcalm]
[music |MCR]

"I had to go into therapy"
Good Charlotte's Joel Madden, 25, thought drugs made him feel better. But then he almost lost everything to them. [/I]As Told To holly eagleson[/I]

Being a musician, I feel pressure to do and say the right thing because I know a lot of you guys are watching me. But I'm human and I definitely make mistakes. I may not be the perfect role model, but what I am is honest. And the truth is I got out of control with drinking and drugs, and I had to change in order to save my family, my career- and myself.

How It Started
Back in high school, I never had the confidence to be comfortable with myself. Because I didn't really know who I was, I felt like no one in my life- not my friends, family, or teachers- understood me. I got so caught up in being loyal to my friends, thinking no one could be as loyal as I was, but I didn't exactly get that loyalty back. My first girlfriend cheated on me and broke my heart. Then my dad left my family when I was 15. Though I'd never use those things as excuses now, back then I was always blaming someone else for my anger- like my ex or my dad. The real problem was that I just didn't like myself, and I took those bad feelings out on other people: In high school I'd act really mean to nearly everyone I met.

Losing Control